<kbd id="d6itj92f"></kbd><address id="oj8caj4r"><style id="dqww21fg"></style></address><button id="dpop2oqr"></button>

          Fifteen iSchool students named 2020-2021 ALA Spectrum Scholars

          A record-breaking fifteen iSchool master’s students have been named 2020-2021 Spectrum Scholars by the American Library Association (ALA) Office for Diversity, Literacy, and Outreach 服务. Since 1997, the Spectrum Scholarship Program has promoted diversity among graduate-level students pursuing degrees in library and information studies through ALA-accredited programs.

          This year’s scholars were selected based on their commitment to community building, leadership potential, and planned contributions to incorporating social justice as part of everyday work. The highly competitive scholarship program received four times as many applications as there were available scholarships.

          The Spectrum Scholarship recipients at Illinois are:

          • megdelawit阿贝贝
          • Alex Aspiazu (ALSC Scholar in honor of Ellen Fader)
          • Danielle Luz Belanger
          • María del Carmen Cifuentes
          • Tacia Díaz (LIRT Scholar)
          • 阿曼达他
          • Kyra Lee (ALSC Scholar)
          • Luisa Leija (ProQuest Scholar)
          • Krystal Madkins (MLA/NLM Scholar)
          • 安东尼·马丁内斯
          • Ashley Mitchell (Turock Scholar)
          • chinyere即oteh
          • rayyon罗宾逊
          • Mayra Rosas (Gordon Scholar)
          • 含羞草沙阿

          Each scholar receives $5,000 to assist with educational costs as well as more than $1,500 to attend the Spectrum Leadership Institute held during the ALA Annual Conference. In addition, the iSchool provides each recipient with a tuition waiver, and Illinois residents receive a grant from the Sylvia Murphy Williams Fund, given by the Illinois Library Association. Other benefits include continuing education and professional development opportunities, peer mentoring, and access to a large alumni network.

          "One of our recruitment and admissions goals is to be the primary destination for ALA Spectrum Scholars," said Moises Orozco Villicana, director of enrollment management. "The iSchool has welcomed 101 Spectrum Scholars since 1997, and the incoming class will break our previous highest number of 10, which was set in 2017. As a group, the Spectrum Scholars have been highly successful in completing their programs of study and making significant contributions through their work in the field after graduation."



          Spectrum Scholar Spotlight: Ashley Mitchell

          A record fifteen iSchool master's students were named 2020-2021 Spectrum Scholars by the American Library Association (ALA) Office for Diversity, Literacy, and Outreach 服务. This “Spectrum Scholar Spotlight” series highlights the School’s scholars. MS/LIS student Ashley Mitchell holds a BS in psychology from Morgan State University in Baltimore, Maryland.

          Ashley Mitchell

          Benson and Koscielski to receive 2020 ILA awards

          The 2020 Illinois Library Association (ILA) award recipients include two iSchool alumni, Sara Benson (MS '17), adjunct assistant professor at the iSchool and copyright librarian at the 大学图书馆, and Roberta Koscielski (MS '82), deputy director of the Peoria (IL) Public Library. 

          Diesner to join IAspire Leadership Academy

          Associate Professor and PhD Program Director Jana Diesner has been named a fellow in the second cohort of the IAspire Leadership Academy, a leadership program aimed at helping STEM faculty from underrepresented backgrounds ascend to leadership roles at colleges and universities. The IAspire Leadership Academy is part of Aspire Alliance's Institutional Change Initiative, led by the Association of Public and Land-grant Universities (APLU) and the University of Georgia.

          Jana Diesner

          Schneider awarded Linowes Fellowship

          Assistant Professor Jodi Schneider has been named a 2020-2021 Linowes Fellow by the Cline Center for Advanced Social 研究 at the University of Illinois. The fellowship "provides exceptionally promising tenure-stream faculty with opportunities for innovation and discovery using the Cline Center'

          Jodi Schneider

          Knox elected president of Beta Phi Mu

          Associate Professor and Interim Associate Dean for Academic Affairs Emily Knox has been elected president of Beta Phi Mu, the international honor society for library and information studies. 

          Emily Knox

              <kbd id="pq60her3"></kbd><address id="cv2u3e9z"><style id="x3nh7b65"></style></address><button id="mufj92ac"></button>